Sign up to the Irish FA Newsletter today

Keep up-to-date with all the latest news from the Irish FA including ticket updates, match information, competitions, articles and much more.
Thank you

Wednesday 21 Nov 2018
UEFA Euro 2020 draw: team pots revealed

The pots for next month’s UEFA EURO 2020 qualifying draw have been confirmed.

Northern Ireland are among 10 teams in pot three.

The draw is set to take place in Dublin on Sunday 2 December.

Pot one, made up of seeded teams, consists of Switzerland, Portugal, Netherlands, England, Belgium, France, Spain, Italy, Croatia, Poland. 

Germany, who were relegated from Group A League 1 in the Nations League, are clubbed with Iceland, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Ukraine, Denmark, Sweden, Russia, Austria, Wales, Czech Republic in pot two.

Michael O’Neill’s men are in pot three with Slovakia, Turkey, Republic of Ireland, Scotland, Norway, Serbia, Finland, Bulgaria and Israel.

Pot four consists of Hungary, Romania, Greece, Albania, Montenegro, Cyprus, Estonia, Slovenia, Lithuania and Georgia.

The results of the Nations League means FYR Macedonia, Kosovo, Belarus, Luxembourg, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Moldova, Gibraltar, Faroe Islands are in pot 5.

Pot six is made up of five teams:Latvia, Liechtenstein, Andorra, Malta, San Marino.

The top two teams from each of the 10 groups qualify for Euro 2020 with the four remaining positions decided from the 16 teams (Switzerland, Portugal, Netherlands, England, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Ukraine, Denmark, Sweden, Scotland, Norway, Serbia, Finland, Georgia, FYR Macedonia, Kosovo and Belarus) in the Nations League play-offs in March 2020 or the next best-ranked team in their league.

In full: how does the draw work?