Sign up to the Irish FA Newsletter today

Keep up-to-date with all the latest news from the Irish FA including ticket updates, match information, competitions, articles and much more.
Thank you

Monday 19 Aug 2019
Alfie Wylie announces squad to play Bulgaria in Ballymoney

Northern Ireland Women's Under-17s face Bulgaria this week in a double header at the Riada Stadium in Ballymoney.

Manager Alfie Wylie has chosen a 22-strong squad ahead of the games which take place tomorrow (20 August) at 7:45pm and on Thursday (22 August) at 7:45pm, and it's free entry to both matches.

Grace Clancy from Manchester City Ladies is in the squad as well as Isobel Glass and Eve Reilly from America, Erin O'Neill and Maura Patterson who play in Scotland and Brianna Boyle from Peamount United in Dublin.

There's also plenty of local representation with six players from Lisburn Rangers Ladies, five from Cliftonville Ladies and three from Linfield Ladies as well as Glentoran Women and Sion Swifts Ladies.

The two games are preparation for UEFA Under 17 European Championship qualifiers which begin on 14 October.

The Women's U17s will face mini tournament hosts Scotland, Italy and Montenegro with the top two in the group making it through to the elite stages with a number of best third placed teams.

Northern Ireland Women's U17s Squad:

Goalkeepers: Lauren Welsh (Cliftonville Ladies), Rachel Norney (Cliftonville Ladies).

Defenders: Grace Clancy (Manchester City Ladies), Leah McAuley (Lisburn Rangers Ladies), Fionuala Morgan (Cliftonville Ladies), Shona Davis (Cliftonville Ladies), Lucy Andrews (Linfield Ladies), Ella Haughey (Lisburn Rangers Ladies), Kathryn McConnell (Linfield Ladies), Aimee Neal (Lisburn Rangers Ladies).

Midfielders: Cara Mervyn (Glentoran Women), Caoimhe Mulholland (Lisburn Rangers Ladies), Erin O’Neill (Hearts Ladies), Cara Tumilty (Lisburn Rangers Ladies), Katie Dickson (Linfield Ladies), Abbie McHenry (Cliftonville Ladies), Cora Chambers (Sion Swifts Ladies).

Forwards: Isobel Glass (FC Starts - USA), Brianna Boyle (Peamount), Eve Reilly (East Coast Strikers), Ellie Mae Dickson (Lisburn Rangers Ladies), Maura Paterson (Hamilton Ladies).