Sign up to the Irish FA Newsletter today

Keep up-to-date with all the latest news from the Irish FA including ticket updates, match information, competitions, articles and much more.
Thank you

Tuesday 15 Jan 2019
Schoolboys will be in action in both Belfast and Larne next week

The Northern Ireland Schoolboys squads for two games against Australia Schoolboys this month were finalised today.

The Under-16 and Under-18 squads have been assembled following trials across Northern Ireland.

The U16s are due to face Australia U17 Schoolboys at New Midgley Park in Belfast on Monday 21 January (7pm start) and the U18s will be taking on their Australian counterparts at Inver Park in Larne on Tuesday 22 January (11.30am kick-off). Entry to both games is free.

The two Schoolboys teams are run by the Northern Ireland Schools’ FA with support from the Irish Football Association. The U16 squad is largely made up of players on JD Club NI, the Irish FA’s elite development programme for young players.

The U18 Schoolboys squad to face Australia features: 

Goalkeepers - Ruuan McKenna (Rathmore Grammar/Cliftonville), Ben Fry (Ballymena Academy/Ballyclare Comrades).

Defenders - Malachy Smith (FMC Hanwood/Glentoran), Trai Hume (NIFL Academy/Linfield), Ruari O’Hare (St Patrick’s Downpatrick/Linfield), Paddy Burns (St Malachy’s Belfast/Glenavon), Callum McVeigh (Down High School/Linfield), Lewis McGarvey (St Malachy’s Belfast/Glentoran).

Midfielders - Josh Largo-Ellis (St Michael’s Enniskillen/Ballinamallard United), Jake Corbett (SERC Lisburn/Linfield), Liam Hassin (Larne HS/Larne), Andrew Whiteside (Coleraine GS/Coleraine), Alex Gawne (Coleraine GS/Coleraine), Jack Bradley (St Joseph’s Derry-Londonderry/Coleraine), Ryan Carmichael (St Patrick’s Academy Dungannon/Portadown).

Forwards - Jamie Glover (Ashfield High/Glentoran), Callum Ferris (Craigavon Senior High/Portadown), Ben Cushnie (Laurelhill/Glentoran), Josh McGreevy (Northern Regional College/Crusaders).

The U16 Schoolboys squad to face Australia features:

Goalkeepers – David Walsh (Portadown College/Linfield), Conner Byrne (Lismore Comprehensive/Glenavon). 

Defenders – Jack Scott (Portadown College/Linfield), Trai Hume (Slemish College/Linfield), Micheal Glynn (St Michael’s College/Ballinamallard United), John McGivern (St Malachy’s College/Linfield), Sean McAllister (St Benedict’s College, Dungannon Swifts), Lewis Mackinnon (Bangor Grammar/Linfield), Aaron Donnelly (St Pius X College, Dungannon Swifts), Sean Stewart (St Malachy’s College/St Oliver Plunkett).

Midfielders - Aodhran Casey (Edmund Rice College/Cliftonville), Orrin McLaughlin (Oakgrove Integrated/Foyle Harps), Jonah Heron (Regent House/Ards), Charlie Allen (Carrickfergus College/Linfield), Vicky Saldanha (St Patrick’s College/Dungannon Swifts). 

Forwards – Peter McKiernan (Edmund Rice College/Cliftonville), Conor Bradley (Christian Brothers Grammar/Dungannon Swifts), Ross McCausland (Parkhall Integrated/Linfield), Dale Taylor (Hazelwood Integrated College/Linfield).

Image: Action from the U16 Schoolboys Victory Shield game v Wales back in the autumn.