Sign up to the Irish FA Newsletter today

Keep up-to-date with all the latest news from the Irish FA including ticket updates, match information, competitions, articles and much more.
Thank you

Wednesday 12 Jun 2019
Shiels to get first look at senior women's panel at training camp

Manager Kenny Shiels has selected his first senior women's squad as they meet for a training camp before the start of their Euro 2021 qualifying campaign. 

There are returns to the international squad for Nadene Caldwell and Lauren Brennan as well as a chance for younger players such as Kelsie Burrows, Toni-Leigh Finnegan and Caitlin McGuinness to impress the new manager.

The players will meet on Friday for the camp which will be the first time they've been together since their impressive performance at the Women's Gold Cup in Turkey back in March where they finished third with three wins out of four games.

They begin their Euro 2021 qualifiers at home to Norway on Friday 30 August followed by an away trip to Newport to face Wales on Tuesday 3 September.

They are followed by a reverse of those fixtures with a trip to Norway on Friday 8 November before facing Wales at home on Tuesday 12 November to finish their fixtures in 2019.

They then begin their 2020 qualifying fixtures by facing Belarus on 14 April away before welcoming them to Northern Ireland on Friday 5 June.

And, finally, they face the Faroe Islands at home on Tuesday 9 June before the reverse fixture finishes their qualifying campaign on Friday 18 September.

Northern Ireland training camp squad:

Goalkeepers: Becky Flaherty (Everton), Lauren Perry (Linfield).

Defenders: Ashley Hutton (Linfield), Julie Nelson (Crusaders), Demi Vance (Glentoran), Freya Holdaway (Crystal Palace), Jessica Foy (Glentoran), Laura Rafferty (Brighton & Hove Albion), Rachel Newborough (TBC), Billie Simpson (Cliftonville), Natalie Johnston (Leicester City), Kelsie Burrows (Linfield), Toni-Leigh Finnegan (Cliftonville), Claragh Connor (Sion Swifts).

Midfielders: Sarah McFadden (Durham), Rachel Furness (Reading), Megan Bell (Linfield), Marissa Callaghan (Cliftonville), Ciara Sherwood (Crystal Palace), Rebecca McKenna (Linfield), Kerry Montgomery (Motherwell), Nadene Caldwell (Glentoran), Emma McMaster (Cliftonville), Chloe McCarron (Linfield).

Attackers: Simone Magill (Everton), Louise McDaniel (Linfield), Lauren Brennan (Sion Swifts), Caitlin McGuinness (Linfield).