Sign up to the Irish FA Newsletter today

Keep up-to-date with all the latest news from the Irish FA including ticket updates, match information, competitions, articles and much more.
Thank you

Monday 01 Apr 2019
WU19s set to play Norway, Denmark and Ukraine in mini tournament

Northern Ireland Women’s U19s boss Alfie Wylie has named an experienced squad for the elite round of the Women's U19 2019 Euros qualifiers. 

The 20-strong panel for a four-team mini tournament in Norway, which gets under way later this week, features a quartet of players who are also regulars in the Northern Ireland senior women’s squad.

Among them is Linfield Ladies goalkeeper Lauren Perry, who is now back in action following a lengthy injury lay-off.

Also included are Linfield players Megan Bell, Louise McDaniel and Rebecca McKenna who were part of the senior squad that finished third overall at this year’s Alanya Gold City Cup in Turkey last month.

In addition the WU19s panel features four players who took part in a senior squad training camp back in January, including Crusaders Strikers goalkeeper Maddie Clifford, Crues defender Caitlyn Hamilton, Linfield defender Kelsie Burrows and Blues midfielder Abbie Magee. 

Wylie’s team will kick off their WU19 Euros elite round with a game against hosts Norway at the AKA Arena in Honefoss on Wednesday (3 April, 1700 local time).

Game two is on Saturday (6 April) against Denmark, again at the AKA Arena (1200), while the final group game is against Ukraine at the AKA Arena next Tuesday (9 April, 1600).

Through the elite round the winners of seven groups will qualify to join hosts Scotland in the WU19 Euros finals from 16 to 28 July.

Northern Ireland squad for WU19 2019 Euros elite round qualifiers:

 Goalkeepers – Lauren Perry (Linfield Ladies), Maddie Clifford (Crusaders Strikers);

Defenders – Yasmin White (Glentoran Women), Kelsie Burrows (Linfield Ladies), Naomi Donnan (Linfield Ladies), Caitlyn Hamilton (Crusaders Strikers), Ruby McFarland (San Diego Surf), Khloe Cooper (Bradford Ladies);

Midfielders - Megan Bell (Linfield), Abbie Magee (Linfield), Rebecca McKenna (Linfield), Louise McDaniel (Linfield), Bronagh McGuinness (Derry City), Leah McGonagle (Derry City), Alexandra Collighan (Portsmouth Ladies);

Forwards - Leyla McFarland (East Lake), Kaia Deane (Queen City United), Ebony Leckey (Sion Swifts Ladies), Leah McDaid (Derry City), Kaitlyn Canavan (Celtic).