Sign up to the Irish FA Newsletter today

Keep up-to-date with all the latest news from the Irish FA including ticket updates, match information, competitions, articles and much more.
Thank you

Friday 01 Jul 2022
Awards for Irish FA JD Academy graduates and Victory Shield team

A special awards dinner was held at Belfast’s Crowne Plaza this week for the graduation of this year’s Irish FA’s JD Academy and a caps presentation to Northern Ireland’s Victory Shield team.

Head of the academy Andy Waterworth led proceedings and was joined on stage by Irish FA president Conrad Kirkwood and chief executive Patrick Nelson with ex-internationals Aaron Hughes and Roy Carroll as well as the players’ friends and family attending the event.

“It was a fantastic day,” said Waterworth. “It was a moment to recognise and celebrate two crucial aspects for our boys’ elite youth pathway; our Victory Shield team and the JD Academy. We have players leaving the academy and going into full-time football both in Great Britain and Northern Ireland which is ultimately what the Academy structure is in place to do.  

“I am always able to remind the boys if they keep working hard they could be the next Brodie Spencer, Trai Hume, Ethan Galbraith all of whom have come through the pathway before them.”


Full list of players: 

Mason Munn (VS cap), Rangers

Jack Wilkins (VS cap & Academy), Linfield

Joshua Briggs (VS cap & Academy), Linfield

Brendan Hamilton (VS cap & Academy), Aberdeen

Bobby Harvey (VS cap & Academy)

Theo McToal (VS cap), Glentoran

Adhamh Patton (VS cap), Derry City

Kyle McCloskey (VS cap), Derry City

Ollie Crowe (VS cap), Derry City

Cormac Austin (VS cap & Academy), Crystal Palace

Francis Turley (VS cap & Academy), Glentoran

Ryan Donnelly (VS cap), Dungannon Swifts

Ben McGonigle (VS cap), Derry City

Kieran Morrison (VS cap), Liverpool

Jay McDowell (VS cap & Academy), Linfield

Ciaran O’Hara (VS cap), Derry City

Jay Dalzell (VS cap), Ards

Rhys Walsh (VS cap), Glentoran

Luca Doherty (VS cap & Academy), Derry City

Rhys Lyttle (Academy), Linfield

Jack Patterson (Academy), Everton

Lorcan Donnelly (Academy), Glentoran

Darragh McCloskey (Academy), Derry City

Blaine McClure (VS cap), Linfield

Callum Burnside (VS cap), Linfield

Ethan Sousa (Academy), Newry