Sign up to the Irish FA Newsletter today

Keep up-to-date with all the latest news from the Irish FA including ticket updates, match information, competitions, articles and much more.
Thank you

Friday 21 Feb 2020
Northern Ireland senior women’s squad named for Pinatar Cup

Northern Ireland’s senior women’s squad has been named for next month’s Pinatar Cup in Spain.

Kenny Shiels’ players are set to take on Iceland, Ukraine and Scotland at the annual tournament staged in Murcia (4-10 March). 

The matches, which are against nations higher up the world rankings than Northern Ireland, all take place at the Pinatar Arena and will help Shiels’ team prepare for their crucial UEFA Women’s EURO 2021 qualifier away to Belarus in April. 

There are two new faces in the panel: 16-year-old goalkeeper Lilie Crooks (Mid Ulster Ladies) and Glentoran Women’s Danielle Maxwell (17) who has been part of Northern Ireland’s under-age squads.

Sheffield United keeper Becky Flaherty misses out on this training camp through injury. 

Northern Ireland kick off their Pinatar Cup campaign against Iceland, ranked 18th in the world, on Wednesday 4 March (kick-off time 2pm, GMT). 

Next up is Ukraine, currently ranked 27th. That game takes place on 7 March (kick-off time 6pm, GMT). 

And the last of their matches is against the Scots on 10 March (kick-off time 7.30pm, GMT). Scotland currently sit at number 22 in the Coca-Cola FIFA Women’s World Ranking list, 34 places ahead of Northern Ireland.

The away match against Belarus in UEFA Women’s EURO 2021 Qualifying Group C is scheduled for 14 April with the return fixture in Belfast on 5 June.

Northern Ireland will then face Faroe Islands at home on 9 June before heading to the Faroes for their final group game on 18 September.

Northern Ireland senior women’s squad:  

Goalkeepers – Jackie Burns (IBV Iceland), Lilie Crooks (Mid Ulster Ladies). 

Defenders – Kelsie Burrows (Blackburn Rovers LFC), Toni-Leigh Finnegan (Cliftonville Ladies), Ashley Hutton (Linfield Ladies), Julie Nelson (Crusaders Strikers), Rachel Newborough (Charlton Athletic Women), Demi Vance (Rangers Women). 

Midfielders – Marissa Callaghan (Cliftonville Ladies), Rachel Furness (Liverpool Women), Danielle Maxwell (Glentoran Women), Chloe McCarron (Linfield Ladies), Sarah McFadden (Durham Women FC), Rebecca McKenna (Linfield Ladies), Emma McMaster (Glentoran Women). 

Forwards - Megan Bell (Rangers Women), Casey Howe (Linfield Ladies), Simone Magill (Everton Women), Caitlin McGuinness (Linfield Ladies), Lauren Wade (Glasgow City).