Sign up to the Irish FA Newsletter today

Keep up-to-date with all the latest news from the Irish FA including ticket updates, match information, competitions, articles and much more.
Thank you

Wednesday 26 Jul 2023
Northern Ireland U16 girls' squad secure second victory at SuperCupNI tournament

Success continues for the Northern Ireland’s girl’s Under-16 development squad at the SuperCupNI.


SuperCupNI Girls U16 Premier competition – Round 2


Northern Ireland U16s 3-1 North East Rush 


Northern Ireland: Stanyte (15’) (56’), McNeill (41’)

North East Rush: Unknown (69’)


Cloyne Crescent, Monkstown


Tuesday 25th July 2023

How it happened

Motivated by their previous win, Northern Ireland started strong with dominate possession in the first 35 minutes. The strong performance was rewarded with an early goal in the 15th minute from defender and previous goal scorer, Anastasija Stanyte from a free kick delivered by Darcie McNeill.

Half-time: Northern Ireland U16s 1-0 North East Rush

Northern Ireland were out to defend their lead as Darcie McNeill converted from a cut back to the edge of the box after a well worked move down the right hand side.

The successful duo worked hard to secure the win with a set piece delivery from Darcie McNeill giving Anastasija Stanyte the opportunity to head it into the net, making the score 3-0 on the 56th minute. 

The opposition scored a last minute consolation from a corner of their own putting them on the scoreboard at 3-1.

Full-time: Northern Ireland U16s 3-1 North East Rush


Northern Ireland: Abbie Smith, Caitlin Carlisle, Laura Dowie, Daisy Conway, Anastasija Stanyte, Darcie McNeill, Sophie Kelly-Bradley, Niamh Hassan, Gracie Conway, Jessica McGuinness, Kayli-ann Clayton, Bernie Ferreira, Olivia Campbell, Lucy Kelly, Clodagh Maguire, Sophie Pollock, Kate Smith, Sophie Hutchinson.

North East Rush: Katherin McFerran, Ashley Pawelczyk, Ashley Seidberg, Kyleigh Dudley, Brenna Burns, Alysah Messenger, Ciara Garrett, Adrianna Cooke, Amanda Porter, Una Vlasak, Isabella Seibert, Emma Hone, Addison Hamn, Megan Morris, Reise Klein.