Sign up to the Irish FA Newsletter today

Keep up-to-date with all the latest news from the Irish FA including ticket updates, match information, competitions, articles and much more.
Thank you

Wednesday 08 Nov 2023
Panel for final Euro 2024 qualifiers revealed

The squad for Northern Ireland’s final two fixtures in their UEFA Euro 2024 qualification campaign has been revealed.

Michael O’Neill’s side are due to face Finland in Helsinki on 17 November before taking on Denmark in Belfast on Monday 20 November.

The Northern Ireland boss has named a 26-strong panel which shows just two changes from the squad chosen for last month’s Euro qualifiers against San Marino and Slovenia.

Oxford United defender Ciaron Brown and Wigan Athletic winger Jordan Jones have both returned to the fold after missing the October home double header.

However, midfielder Alistair McCann (Preston North End) is still unavailable due to a calf injury. He had to withdraw from the two games last month with the same issue.

The Group H qualifier against Finland is being staged in Helsinki’s Olympic Stadium on Friday 17 November (5pm start UK time), while the match against the Danes at the National Football Stadium at Windsor Park the following Monday (20 November) will have a 7.45pm start.

Finland, who currently lie fourth in Qualifying Group H, can no longer qualify for next year’s Euros in Germany. They have amassed 12 points from their eight group games to date, while Northern Ireland are fifth in the table on six points.

The Danes, on the other hand, can secure a place at Euro 2024 if they defeat table toppers Slovenia in Copenhagen on 17 November.

Both countries currently have 19 points from eight games, with Slovenia topping the table on goal difference.

If Slovenia win at the Parken Stadium then they will definitely be on that plane to Germany.

A win for either country or a draw will leave the door open for third-placed Kazakhstan, who face San Marino at home that day, to qualify from the group. Kazakhstan currently have 15 points and their final game is against Slovenia away on 20 November, by which time the Kazakhs will likely have 18 points in the bag.

It means Denmark’s game in Belfast could be either party time for the Danish team and their fans or a nerve-jangler to see if Kasper Hjulmand’s side can do enough against Northern Ireland to secure a place at the final tournament next summer.

There are still a limited number of tickets available for the clash with the Danes on 20 November via

Northern Ireland squad for UEFA Euro 2024 qualifiers against Finland and Denmark:

Goalkeepers - Bailey Peacock-Farrell (Aarhus, on loan from Burnley), Conor Hazard (Plymouth Argyle), Luke Southwood (Cheltenham Town).

Defenders - Jonny Evans (Manchester United), Paddy McNair (Middlesbrough), Jamal Lewis (Watford, on loan from Newcastle United), Daniel Ballard (Sunderland), Ciaron Brown (Oxford United), Trai Hume (Sunderland), Brodie Spencer (Motherwell, on loan from Huddersfield Town), Eoin Toal (Bolton Wanderers).

Midfielders - George Saville (Millwall), Jordan Thompson (Stoke City), Shea Charles (Southampton), Conor McMenamin (St Mirren), Jordan Jones (Wigan Athletic), Paul Smyth (Queens Park Rangers), Isaac Price (Standard Liege), Matthew Kennedy (Kilmarnock), Dale Taylor (Wycombe Wanderers, on loan from Nottingham Forest), Paddy Lane (Portsmouth), Brad Lyons (Kilmarnock).

Forwards - Josh Magennis (Wigan Athletic), Conor Washington (Derby County), Dion Charles (Bolton Wanderers), Callum Marshall (West Ham United).