Sign up to the Irish FA Newsletter today

Keep up-to-date with all the latest news from the Irish FA including ticket updates, match information, competitions, articles and much more.
Thank you

Friday 28 Jun 2024
Northern Ireland girls to compete at Foyle Cup

A Northern Ireland Under-15/U14 girls’ development side will be taking part in the Foyle Cup next month.

An 18-strong squad is set to compete in the international youth football tournament – in the boys’ U13 section. The girls will be coached by Stephen Graham.

Their first game at the 2024 Foyle Cup, on Monday 15 July in Group C, will see them take on Bangor at St Columb’s Park in Derry-Londonderry (2pm kick-off), while Newbuildings United from Co Londonderry will provide the opposition at the Newbuildings pitches the following day (1pm start).

In their final group game on Wednesday 17 July the girls will be up against Co Tyrone side Ardstraw. That game is scheduled to kick off at Prehen Playing Fields in Derry at 1pm.

The WU15/U14 side will play further games at the tournament later that week which will determine overall positions in their section.

More than 400 teams from across the island of Ireland, Britain and North America are set to take part in the week-long Foyle Cup.

Sponsored by sportswear firm O’Neills, and run in association with Derry City and Strabane District Council, the tournament features 17 categories, ranging from U8 to U19 for boys’ teams plus six girls’/ladies sections.

Each year Foyle Cup matches are staged across Northern Ireland's North-West and in Co Donegal.

The Northern Ireland WU15/U14 squad for this year’s Foyle Cup is as follows:

Goalkeepers – Anna Roberts (Cliftonville Ladies), Hope McKee Nellins (Civil Service Girls).

Defenders – Lacey Mai McVicker and Anayah Lee (both Derry City Women), Grace Steele (Glentoran Women), Autumn Edgar (Larne Women), Indie McQuillan (unattached), Caitlin Shields (Linfield Women).

Midfielders – Anna Smyth, Mea Foster and Grace Murray (all Crusaders Strikers), Grace Guest (Rosario), Kacylee Mitchell (Derry City Women).

Forwards – Abigail Curley and Annarose Robinson (both Larne Women), Annabelle Shaw and Ellie Tohill (both Glentoran Women), Charley McMullan (Crusaders Strikers).