Sign up to the Irish FA Newsletter today

Keep up-to-date with all the latest news from the Irish FA including ticket updates, match information, competitions, articles and much more.
Thank you

Friday 15 Dec 2023
Northern Ireland Powerchair team celebrates history-making year

The Northern Ireland Powerchair team celebrated a year of success as they made history with their FIPFA (Federation Internationale de Powerchair Football Association) Powerchair Football World Cup participation. 

The team achieved a milestone for their country as they represented at the Home Nations Championships in Scotland and the FIPFA Powerchair Football World Cup in Australia this year.

The players were awarded their caps for representing their country at a celebration event yesterday evening that took place at the National Football Stadium at Windsor Park.

Alan Crooks, Development Manager of Disability Football at the Irish FA speaks of the development of disability football in Northern Ireland, he said: “We’ve put a lot of focus on developing our disability football programmes, including powerchair and we are seeing the calibre of players increase as we see more access to participation in Northern Ireland.

“I’m extremely proud of our Head Coach Michael Hilland, the players and the team as we’ve made history this year and we’re excited for the future and the opportunities ahead.”

The players that received their caps from both tournaments are as follows.

Northern Ireland Development Squad: Ellie Brown, Kingston Bryars, Ben Thompson, Daire Gorman, Jamie Rogan and Ethan McCabe.

Northern Ireland World Cup Squad: Scott Hilland (captain), Patrick Cumiskey, Bartek Kuszkowski, Jason Browning, Carl McVeigh and Sean McKinney.