I Fan News
Thank you
H Tickets

Curriculum Sports Programme

Curriculum Sports Programme Objectives

The Curriculum Sports Programme is aimed at Primary 1 to Primary 4 pupils and seeks to improve their health and wellbeing and encourage them to embrace a healthy lifestyle from a young age. The main aims of the programme are:

  • To develop Fundamental Movement Skills through participation in enjoyable games
  • Help raise confidence, self-esteem and motivation to learn in other curricular areas
  • Raise the confidence of, and provide support to, primary teachers in delivering Physical Education

Studies have shown that children who fail to develop Fundamental Movement Skills are three times less active than skillful children of the same age. Children who develop sound Fundamental Movement Skills are more likely to develop the confidence and self-esteem they need to take part in physical activity and sport. These children are also more likely to maintain an active and healthy lifestyle, thereby improving health and reducing the risk of obesity.

For more information about the Curriculum Sports Programme please contact jonathan.michael@irishfa.com or maura.denny@irishfa.com

 

Primary School Coaches

Brendan Lynch

Belfast City Council

brendan.lynch@irishfa.com

Chris Wright

Armagh, Banbridge, Craigavon Borough Council

chris.wright@irishfa.com

Claire Rea

Newry. Mourne & Down District Council

claire.rea@irishfa.com

Clare Carson

Lisburn & Castlereagh City Council

clare.carson@irishfa.com

Damian McLaughlin

Antrim & Newtownabbey Borough Council

damian.mclaughlin@irishfa.com

Daniel Chambers

Causeway Coast & Glens Borough Council

daniel.chambers@irishfa.com

Daniel Lafferty

Mid & East Antrim Borough Council

daniel.lafferty@irishfa.com

Diarmuid McNeice

Ards & North Down Borough Council

diarmuid.mcneice@irishfa.com

Eamon Curry

Mid Ulster District Council

eamon.curry@irishfa.com

Gareth Allen

Belfast City Council

gareth.allen@irishfa.com

Gareth Porter

Mid Ulster District Council

gareth.porter@irishfa.com

Gary Devenney

Lisburn & Castlereagh City Council

gary.devenney@irishfa.com

Gary Wallace

Fermanagh & Omagh District Council

gary.wallace@irishfa.com

Heather Kerr

Newry, Mourne & Down District Council

heather.kerr@irishfa.com

John Molloy

Fermanagh & Omagh District Council

john.mollloy@irishfa.com

John O'Kane

Belfast City Council

john.o'kane@irishfa.com

Judith Reid

Mid Ulster District Council

judith.reid@irishfa.com

Lauren Moore

Antrim & Newtownabbey Borough Council

lauren.moore@irishfa.com

Martine Power

Ards & North Down Borough Council

martine.power@irishfa.com

Mo McDowell

Mid & East Antrim Borough Council

maurice.mcdowell@irishfa.com

Nadine Murphy

Armagh, Banbridge & Craigavon District Council

nadine.murphy@irishfa.com

Neil Morrison

Belfast City Coucnil

neil.morrison@irishfa.com

Patricia Doherty

Derry & Strabane District Council

patricia.doherty@irishfa.com

Ronan O'Donnell

Causeway Coast & Glens Borough Council

ronan.odonnell@irishfa.com

Rory Scott

Belfast City Council

rory.scott@irishfa.com

Rosie McColgan

Derry & Strabane District Council

rosie.mccolgan@irishfa.com

Ryan Mullen

Causeway Coast & Glens Borough Council

ryan.mullen@irishfa.com

Steafan Deery

Derry & Strabane District Council

steafan.deery@irishfa.com