Skip Navigation




Release Date: 04/07/2008

THE Irish FA is pleased to officially confirm the name of Northern Ireland’s second tier of football as the ‘IFA Championship’.

The Intermediate Committee at a meeting last evening endorsed the recommendation that the ‘Premier Intermediate League’ become known as the ‘IFA Championship’ and look forward to an exciting new season.

At the same meeting the Intermediate Committee confirmed the seventeen member clubs as follows:

  1. Ards
  2. Armagh City
  3. Ballinamallard United
  4. Ballyclare Comrades
  5. Ballymoney United
  6. BanbridgeTown
  7. Carrick Rangers
  8. Coagh United
  9. Dergview
  10. Donegal Celtic
  11. Glebe Rangers
  12. Killymoon Rangers
  13. Larne
  14. Limavady United
  15. Loughgall
  16. Portadown
  17. Tobermore United

There will be a new logo design for the Championship which will be unveiled in due course.

Jim Shaw, Chairman of the Intermediate Committee, comments on the new image and name, “I think it is a welcome change and development for intermediate football in Northern Ireland.  It gives the clubs and the competition a level of prestige and complements the IFA Premiership.”

« Go Back

Enter your NI Fans username and password to sign-in.

Forgotten your password?